Domestic Abuse

The term domestic abuse (or domestic violence as it is sometimes called) is used to describe anything from emotional abuse and financial abuse to physical assault, sexual abuse, intimidation, isolation and/or threats.

The definition of domestic abuse adopted by all agencies in Warrington and by the Warrington Domestic Abuse Partnership is:

“Any incident or pattern of incidents of controlling, coercive or threatening behaviour, violence or abuse between those aged 16 or over who are or have been intimate partners or family members regardless of gender or sexuality.”

There are four types of abuse, they are:

  • Emotional abuse
  •  Sexual abuse
  •  Financial abuse
  •  Physical abuse

It is important to remember that the definition of domestic abuse has been changed and now includes 16 and 17 year olds but what constitutes harm in relation to child abuse has changed to mean, ill-treatment or the impairment of health or development [including, for example, impairment suffered from seeing or hearing the ill-treatment of another].

A one minute information guide has been produced and can be accessed via the attached link.

Professionals who have received training on the DASH (Domestic Abuse, Stalking and Honour based violence) Risk Indicator Checklist (RIC) can also access the DASH RIC via the attached link.

For more information on training please access the WSCB Training Programme via the Professionals / inter-agency training section of this website.